Katie Bakes: Pistachio and Avocado Oatmeal Cookies

Pistachio and Avocado Oatmeal CookiesDSC_0504

The scene was set perfectly. Lazy sunny day. Nic glued to the couch watching basketball. A kitchen all to myself. This moment was rare and I knew I had to embrace it. “Babe, I think I am going to bake something. What sounds good to you?”  Without hesitation Nic proclaimed, “Cookies!”.

With swimsuit season dangerously close, I knew I wanted to be kind to our insides that day. No butter, no refined sugar, and no white flour were my rules. I was also feeling frugal (maybe a bit lazy?) and was determined not to drive to the store for ingredients. As my eyes scanned the kitchen counter, I spotted an avocado left over from last night’s dinner. I’ve heard of people using avocado as a replacement for butter, but never had the urge to try it. I’m sure you can imagine the health benefits of this switcheroo (or fuel your curiosity and check out Nic’s sardine and avocado toast post to read about the many benefits of avocados). Time to experiment!

My next step was to use “All Mighty Google”, who told me I could use a 1:1 ratio of butter to pureed avocado when substituting butter in a recipe. Done. I soon found a recipe for Pistachio-Oatmeal Anytime Cookies by The Jolly Tomato that met all my rules and used an ingredient I forgot I loved and just happened to have on hand- pistachios! What a beautiful, delicious little nut.DSC_0434

Before mixing the ingredients, I was a little worried the avocado and pistachio combo would give the cookies a monster green hue, or worse…a baby poo hue (tantalizing imagery isn’t it?). In the end, the colorful avocado blended seamlessly into the mix and one could be forgiven for not noticing its presence as it looked like any other cookie, aside from the pretty green pistachios which stole the show.

I then completed a very crucial step of experimental baking, which I recommend to all. The dough taste test. My theory is that if the dough tastes good, the final product has to as well. After the dough was taste test approved and plopped on the baking sheet, I crossed my fingers and waited as the oven did its job.

The final product? Chewy, slightly salty, slightly sweet, and filling. I used them as a grab and go breakfast and a post workout snack. Nic, who likes some foods a bit sweeter than I do, enjoyed his with a dollop of raspberry jam. If you are wondering how the avocado turned out in this recipe, I can say that I didn’t notice it. I think that is a win when you are looking for a healthy substitute. Another recipe that proves avocado is truly a magical fruit!

Nic and I inhaled these and I will definitely be making these again. I hope you enjoy as much as we did!

Ingredients:DSC_0451

  • 4 Tbs. avocado (approximately 1/2 an avocado)
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt (optional; I did not use salt, because the pistachios were lightly salted)
  • 1/2 cup crushed pistachios
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, cream the avocado with an electric mixer until smooth. Add the mashed bananas, honey, egg, and mix well. Stir in the flour, oats, baking soda, and salt (if using). Fold in the pistachios and chocolate chips.DSC03603
  3. Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto a parchment-paper-lined or nonstick baking sheet. Flatten cookies with a wet spoon. Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes, or until light brown. Makes two dozen cookies.DSC03609

DSC03614

Bon Apetite!DSC_0488 DSC_0499 DSC_0484

10 responses to “Katie Bakes: Pistachio and Avocado Oatmeal Cookies

  1. What a great idea! Although I’m a little worried that butter and avocado are proportionally the same thing… I might have to rethink my “Avo a day keeps the doctor away”.

  2. Wow. These are intriguing… possibly the most interesting cookies I’ve ever seen! I still can’t get my head around avocado in sweet dishes. I’ve read heaps recently about the delicious quality of chocolate avocado mousse, but… darn it, I just want my cream, eggs, butter and saturated fat! Well, my heart tells me that. But my head tells me, much more rationally, that I should bake these cookies instead and be kind to my insides. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I’ll give these a go, possibly with Nic’s jammy addition (and ice-cream? Okay, no ice-cream). Thanks!

  3. Yum! I’ve made Avocado Chocolate Mousse, Avocado Fudge, Avocado-Lime cupcakes, and Avocado Brownies so I will have to try these in my continuation of avocado baking adventures. My parents live in the ‘Avocado Capital of the World’ and we inevitably come home from visiting them with a box of about 40 gorgeous Hass or Fuertes. I like the idea of something I can grab as a breakfast or snack while out running errands.

Leave a Reply

