Sous-Vide Rack of Lamb with Minted Pea Puree

DSC05407

Sous-Vide Rack of Lamb with Minted Pea Puree and Kale Chips

This is it.

My absolute favorite sous-vide recipe to date.

When I saw lamb at a discounted price this past week at my local market, I jumped at the chance to try out my SousVide Supreme on my favorite red meat. Lamb pairs well with so many things, but for my money, mint is right up near the top as a perfect flavor buddy! Pork has apple, chicken has lemon and lamb has mint. They just get each  other, you know?

At the store grabbing the rest of my ingredients I knew that I wanted something healthy and green, and I wanted a sauce to pair with the lamb. Greens plus a green sauce it is. These decisions were all made at the store after seeing what was available, and what looked good, but there was another, more important reason for my being at this particular grocery store this night.

Mama Lil’s Peppers!

These may be my new addiction. They are a local Seattle company and I kept seeing them come up in some of my favorite places, most notably at my favorite Seattle burger joint, Zippy’s Giant Burgers! Its an institution and one that has won many awards and is frequently listed as Seattle’s Best Burger. The Zippy’s burger that stole my heart though, had one special addition that eventually manifested itself into this addiction I currently find myself in. Mama Lil’s Kick Butt Peppers.mamalils

Sweet, spicy, oil soaked and totally amazing, I am convinced there is nothing that they don’t instantly make better. Breads and cheeses mostly, but also meat, eggs, sandwiches, salads, soups everything. (They have a variety of flavors and varying heat levels and I think I am just gonna send these babies out to friends and family that are no longer in Seattle for Christmas!)

This dish was no different, the combo of minted peas, lamb and sweet fiery peppers was enough to get that rare look I sometimes get from Katie. When she really likes something, and it comes unexpectedly, she gets real quiet, almost teary in fact and just stares at her food, then back at me…then back at the food in a continuous loop. It’s how you know you have exceeded expectations and it’s how I judge dishes at home now.

This one was a winner.  The lamb was fork tender without falling apart. (Side note, two nights later I sous-vide some fresh Halibut her uncle caught and gave to us (Thanks Bill and Terry!), and drizzled some olive oil, toasted pine nuts and mama lil’s peppers on top and went two for two for surprise successes!)

The kale chips are a staple of the household and are healthy, cheap and totally delicious, if not a bit messy at times.

I am not sure if this will be the final recipe I send into the blogger BBQ contest, as it isn’t really in the vain of classic BBQ, but it was my favorite sous-vide dish to date!

Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 1 frenched rack of lamb
  • 1 Tbsp garam masala
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/4 cup of Mama Lil’s Peppers

Minted Pea Ingredients:

  • 1 bag frozen peas
  • 10-15 chopped fresh mint leaves
  • 1 green onion (green parts only)
  • 1 Tbsp cider vinegar
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1 tsp kosher salt

Kale Chips:

  • 1 head of chopped kale, stalks removed
  • 1/4 cup shaved parmesan cheese
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt and pepper

Lamb Directions:

  1. First wash and pat dry your rack of lamb, then trim of any undesired fat.
  2. Preheat SousVide Supreme water bath to your desired temperature: 125-130 degrees for medium rare, 130-140 degrees for medium, 140-150 degrees for medium well. I prefer mine on the pinker side so I set my SousVide Supreme to 128 degrees and cooked them for about 48 hours as I forgot I had dinner plans the night previous. Since this is sousvide the meat cannot overcook, just get more tender.
  3. Vacuum pack your cleaned rack of lamb and place in your heated water bath for anywhere from 24-72 hours for super tender meat.DSC05338
  4. Once meat has been submerged for your desired time, preheat grill to high, or 450+ degrees. Since the lamb is already cooked to your desired internal temperature, we are simply looking to achieve the maillard reaction and add some carmelization and extra flavor to the meat.
  5. Remove lamb from water bath and extract from the bag. Pat lamb dry, then brush with olive oil and rub in your garam masala spices and sprinkle on some coarse kosher salt.DSC05355
  6. Grill 2-3 minutes per side until crisp golden exterior is achieved. Pan frying with some olive oil will achieve an even greater crust if you would like to keep the party indoors (just keep some windows open and a fan on cause searing at high heat can get smokey).
  7. Remove from grill and let cool for 5 minutes before cutting into.DSC05370 DSC05367 DSC05406

Minted Pea Puree Directions:

  1. We need to blanch the peas. Bring a pot of water to a low boil and dump in your frozen peas. When the peas begin to float, only 3-4 minutes, remove from heat, strain and pour the cooked peas in a bowl of cold ice water to shock them. This will cool them completely and help them retain their color.
  2. In a food processor or blender, puree the peas with the remaining ingredients until your desired thickness and viscosity. Salt and pepper to taste. Should be a bright, almost neon colorful green hue. DSC05341

Kale Chips:

  1. First you will need to wash your large leaves of kale. Remove the stems and rib/stalk running down the center, then chop the leaves into 1-2″ size pieces. Pat dry, or run through a salad spinner to remove as much moister as you can/want. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. On a large aluminum foil lined baking sheet (I needed two for the full head of kale) toss kale with some olive oil and smoked paprika and spread out evenly on the baking sheet. Bake kale for 15 minutes, then sprinkle with shaved parmesan cheese and continue baking for another 4-6 minutes, or until kale becomes crispy/crunchy. Salt and pepper to taste

Bon Appetite!

This month, I’m competing with several other BBQ bloggers at http://www.sousvidesupreme.com/sousvidebbq.htm. Check back after June 28th to see what recipe I decide to enter and send me a vote if you want. As a bonus, each person who casts a vote for their fan favorite will be entered to win a $200 gift certificate to www.sousvidesupreme.com.

DISCLAIMER: I was sent the SousVide Supreme to try as part of a blogger outreach program from the company.  The opinions are my own.

DSC05424 DSC05414 DSC05412 DSC05409 DSC05408

7 responses to “Sous-Vide Rack of Lamb with Minted Pea Puree

  1. - Now, I’m more of a lamb kind of a person. Having said that, the kale chips and minted pea puure topped with kick-butt-peppers are quite a statement on the plate.
    - I’m on WordPress too, however, just found you today, to my fortune, through ’44 Classic French Meals You Need To Try Before You Die’ post on buzzfeed.com. What I have seen so far, absolutely magnificent. I am impressed by your knowledge of food and the style you present them with. ~ Fae.

Leave a Reply

